SFSU‎ > ‎semesters‎ > ‎

2009 spring

This site contains information for the Spring 2009 semester's class participants.  Other pages (the links in the blue banner at the top) contain information about past semesters, our studio, and links to other glass resources.

class schedule

Monday January 26

First Class. Equipment operation/ studio procedures and protocol/ Safety/ Open forum

Wednesday January 28

Go over first month syllabus/ slide talk/ develop a charging schedule and blow slot times for the first week (Thursday 29 Jan. to Monday 2nd Feb).

First assignment

Complete a sculpture consisting of 30 parts 15 of which are to be made in the glass studio. You have lots of flexibility in scope and scale so take advantage. What you lack in experience you may make up for in creativity. Please be prepared to talk about your process, as well as your finished work. Due date: Monday 16 February.

Saturday January 31 (optional)

Back to basics. Demonstration of basic forms and starting procedures (gathering, blocking, marvering, bubble starting)

Monday February 2

Protocol. Safety habits and procedures. Proper handling of tools and overview of all equipment. Your first five moves. We'll discuss planning out your work focused on the first few steps of the process. Choosing blow slots.

Wednesday February 4

Garren will give a demonstration on the different possibilities using the cold working equipment we have. We will discuss adhesives, combining materials.

The class will collaborate on a hot sculpted form.

Monday February 9

Pulling, stretching, twisting, wrapping, cane making. We will examine ways of manipulating glass focusing on heat. Both technical and sculptural applications will be addressed.

On-campus glass sale: February 11-13

 

Wednesday February 11

Demonstration (combining elements)/ Garage management, planning, and working with a large team.

Monday February 16 - open forum

Solving individual questions for the good of the group.

Wednesday February 18 - Crit Day

First assignment due [date adjusted from Monday 16th Feb.]

Monday February 23

More work with shards and cane two part project.

Wednesday February 25

Finish shard and cane work (part 2).

Monday March 2 - Glass as flat

Working with flat glass and found glass. Discuss methods of fusing and creating images in flat glass.

Wednesday March 4 - flat glass continued

Monday March 9 - sand casting

Second assignment due.

Wednesday March 11 - sand casting continued

Monday March 16 - visiting artist

Wednesday March 18 - visiting artist

Monday March 23- Spring Break

 

class policies

Materials fee

There is a $262 materials/ lab fee payable in class before you can be assigned a blow slot.

Attendance

You get 2 unexcused absences during the semester. If you let me know what's going on I can excuse the absence and you won't get your third unexcused absence that will result in lowering your grade. Your main responsibility is to your blow slot and to your partner. You should always give as much notice as possible if you can't make your blow slot.

If you are up to 30 minutes late for you blow slot without making a previous arrangement to be late, then you slot in forfeited for that time.

Grade

Your grade will be determined by:

2 project critiques60%
sketchbook/journal20%
contribution to the class15%
attendance5%

Glass Blowing (ART 547)

A class from San Francisco State University College of Extended Learning.

Instructor: Nate Watson

This course is for all levels. Emphasis is on the creation of sculptural artwork through explorations in molten glass. Technique and aesthetics will be taught.

Class dates: Jan 26 - May 20, 2009. 6:30-9:30pm Mon+Wed

Comments