SFSU‎ > ‎semesters‎ > ‎

2012 fall

Welcome to the SFSU glass program web presence.  This page describes the Fall 2012 semester.  Other pages (the links in the blue banner at the top) contain information about past semesters, our studio, and links to other glass resources.

This course is for all levels. Emphasis is on the creation of sculptural artwork through explorations in molten glass. Technique and aesthetics will be taught. Students will have their own practice time outside of class. Course may be repeated for a total of 9 units. Please contact the instructor prior to enrollment. In addition to the tuition, there is a $295 materials/ lab fee payable to the Bursar's Office after the first class meeting.

This class will include of survey of glass working techniques and history as well as develop the skills required to plan, articulate, and execute designs. We will explore the changing dialogues that exist between traditional craft mediums and contemporary art through the practice of manipulating glass, drawing, and writing. You will be expected to keep a sketchbook/journal that reflects your experiences in and out of the class in regard to your creative pursuits.



visiting artists this semester

  • 24 Sept:  Jonathan Yao
  • 3 Oct:  Kazuki Takizawa

blow-slot schedule

Also available here for adding to your own calendar, and as a web page.


class schedule

Monday Aug 27: first class.

  • Introductions
  • Safety procedures, equipment, and protocol for a smoothly operating and productive environment.
  • Goals/ objectives
  • First assignment: Collect a minimum of 20 images that represent your interest in form, color, texture, scale, pattern, design, and content. Discuss these images in class on the following Monday (Sept. 3).

Wednesday August 29

  • Blow slot assignments
  • The specifics to gathering for every application.
  • Group exercise: gathers and bits
  • Individualized assignments (due September 27)

Monday September 3: No Class - Labor Day

Wednesday September 5: Foundations: gathering, blocking, marvering, and bubble starting (why, when, & how. Please take careful notes!)

Monday September 10: Bits bits bits. Heats and shapes that define bits for every situation.  (communication, timing, heat, and practice)

Wednesday September 12: more bits!

Monday September 17:

  • Assignment due: slide presentation (20 images) Format: PDF, PowerPoint, or a folder of .JPG images (basically, something that's compatible with a Mac). Email them to Nate, or bring a thumb drive.
  • Seasonal fundraising meeting

Wednesday September 19: Set-ups for basic shapes.

  • Intro to color
  • Bit review and practice

Monday September 24: visiting artist Jonathan Yao

Wedesday September 26: crit day (assignment due); extended assignments due Oct 17.

Monday October 1: Goblet as a beginning place for sculpture

Wednesday October 3: visiting artist Kazuki Takizawa

Monday October 8: visiting artist review

Wednesday October 10: Sculpting techniques and methods

Monday October 15: Sculpting techniques and methods cont’d

Wednesday October 17: in-class production; extended assignments due

Monday October 22: in-class production (moved to Oct 31)

Wednesday October 24: visiting artist TBA

October 24-27: fall sale

Monday October 29: visiting artist: Danny White

Wednesday October 31: production at PublicGlass

Monday November 5: pulling cane

Wednesday November 7: making murini

Monday November 12: no class: Veterans Day 

Wednesday November 14: cane and murini for sculptural surface

November ??-??: ornament sale

Wednesday November 16: studio clean up (mandatory)

November 19-24: Campus closed (no studio time)

Monday November 26: the illusive goblet in depth

Wednesday November 28: the illusive goblet in depth cont’d

November 28-30: ornament sale


Monday December 3: The constructed vessel (incalmo)

Wednesday December 5: Incalmo cont’d

Monday December 10in-class exam

Wednesday December 12: Last Class, final critique, photos from Jim

Sunday Dec 16: last day in studio.

??? barbeque at Mike's.


class policies

materials fee

There is a $298 materials/lab fee payable to the bursar's office and confirmed by a stamped form given to the instructor as soon as possible. Failure to do so may result in forfeiture of blow slots.

attendance

You get 2 unexcused absences during the semester. If you let me know what’s going on I can excuse the absence and avoid the third unexcused absence that will result in lowering your grade. Your main responsibility is to your blow slot and to your partner, but missing class will compromise the cohesiveness of the class. Besides... who skips glassblowing class?  Seriously.

Let your partner know as soon as possible if you can't make your blow slot, and ask them how they want to handle this - some like to select an alternate partner themselves, some will want you to help them find one.

grading

Class participation = weekly crits + attendance
60%
Assignments 20%
Final critique 20%
You must keep a sketch book that will contain all of your observations, notes, and objectives. It will serve as your platform to relay ideas and ask questions. A picture is worth 1000 words.

images and videos


Glass Blowing
ART 547

A class from San Francisco State University College of Extended Learning

Instructor Nate Watson 

Class dates
Aug. 27--29,
Sep. 5--Nov. 7,
Nov. 14--Dec. 19

Class times 
6:30-8:30pm Mon+Wed 

Studio closed (no blow slots) TBD.

Glass sales: TBD. Sale inventory

ą
john wilkes,
Nov 25, 2012, 10:30 PM
Comments